Qualification Structure

The scope of the theoretical training in this programme focuses on the following modules:


Module 0:  Academic Foundation is an extra-curricular orientation to the qualification and distinctive of the CEFA successful training model.


The Fundamental Unit Standards in the three Books in this Module focus on principles for the practice of non-discrimination, the concept of human rights and democracy and its application in society, as well as language and communication strategies for vocational and occupational learning.

CORE MODULES (106 Credits)

Module 1 Community Development:  Theory and Practice Foundation (52 Credits)

The six Books in this Module focus on the theories and approaches needed to facilitate community development interventions, the community development process and intervention plan, how to monitor budgets related to community projects, how to facilitate learning in a community context, as well as analysing leadership and related theories in a work context.

Module 2:  Regulatory and Policy Framework (16 Credits)

Relevant legal and regulatory frameworks for sustainable and integrative community development are the focus of the two Books in this module.

Module 3 Community Development Skills (28 Credits)

The four Books in this Module focus on how to negotiate and deal with conflict situations, exploring and coordinating networks, promoting and supporting collaborative partnerships within and between stakeholders and sectors, as well as how to recruit, induct and manage volunteers.

Module 4:  Community Development Research (10 Credits)

How to plan and conduct community based research that redresses social development issues is the focus of the one Book in this Module


Early Childhood Development

Learners who choose this Elective will learn how to manage and evaluate an Early Childhood Development (ECD) service, prepare early childhood development programmes – and promote healthy development in ECD programmes.

Last modified: Friday, 25 March 2016, 7:48 AM